I Forgot How Much of a Challenge Drawing Digitally Can Be

Doodle2I’ve been needing to work on my art more. When I’m not writing, I usually draw. Since I’ve been physically better recently, I have the energy to be creative.

Writing isn’t coming to me right now, so I thought I’d sit down and draw. I seem to be quite out of practice. This little drawing turned out pretty decently, but the number of blue line drafts I had to go through to get to this point really surprised me.

Does all my digital art always take this much effort?

I’m not sure if I’m simply out of practice, or if it’s always difficult. I’m thinking it’s a little bit of both. Anne2

A month or so back, I binge watched Anne with an E. I loved it, the main character was just adorable. I love how not conventionally pretty the adorable little actress is.  I also adored how the character was someone I could relate to, a dreamer.

So of course, I felt compelled to do some art. I then downloaded all the Anne books from LibriVox. It was interesting the ways the story was updated, and I look forward to the next season.

The little piece to the right sat on my drive, half finished for a while. It needed considerable work, and I was just not feeling it. Though I felt it captured the essence of the character, it just wasn’t all that great. So instead of fussing with attempting to fix what I had, I layered some of my flower photos over it and, played with filters, and got something I feel is presentable.

It’s more than a little frustrating to be this far out of my art groove, but I’ll get back to it. Slow and steady progress is better than nothing, and this summer, I have every intention of progressing once more.

 

About MSChavez

M.S. Chavez, or Shannon Marie Chavez is an author and artist. For more than a decade years she worked in newspapers as a graphic artist. All the while she was writing and doing freelance artwork and web design on the side. Now, she focuses on being a mother, working with animals, as well as writing and doing freelance work on the side. She has a number of science fiction, paranormal, fantasy, horror and romance short stories published and is working on a series of rural fantasy novels.
This entry was posted in art and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I Forgot How Much of a Challenge Drawing Digitally Can Be

  1. MSChavez says:

    Reblogged this on Aberrata and commented:

    I didn’t get a chance to finish my blog this week, so here’s a cross post from my art and design site.

    Like

Leave a Reply

